Jump to content


Photo

loosing gain on pre amp and monitor drop out


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 danielolsen_4

danielolsen_4

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 22 June 2014 - 10:06 AM

Same problem as many others. The idea of the mixer is fine, but it is lollipop programed and built

 

Channels dropping out, auto trim some times bad, very slow when recording, monitor disapear

 

My cables works, so dont give me any crap about cabels.

 

This is the Second mixer i have, the first one was realy bad... this one work 7/10 times. and thats not good enough.

 

 


  • 0

#2 dboomer

dboomer

    Line 6 Staff

  • Moderator
  • 2770 posts

Posted 22 June 2014 - 10:48 AM

Sounds like you are not getting a representative sample when you perform auto-trim. (Are you performing auto-trim?)

If you are way off or things change drastically then the Trim-tracking feature can make up to a 24dB change, which would all but shut down a channel. You should try shutting off the Trim-tracking feature but then if things change wildly during a performance you may get some clipping of those channels.

#3 lalo1254

lalo1254

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 06 July 2014 - 09:56 AM

I am having the same problem and to be honest it's driving me crazy! here's a rundown of my issue! 

 

1. I have done auto trim on all channels to make sure the gain input is ok! 

2. Auto Trim is turned off on all channels

 

I do live sound at a church and we decided for these setup for it's technology and convenience! 

While musicians are performing live the volume drastically drops to a point I have to increase the output levels. 

 

After a while the volume will come back to normal which forces me to reduce the output level 

 

This happens without notice and I need to be monitoring very carefully! It is a shame that after many hours of working and tuning my setup presets and gain levels I can't just sit an mix without stress!!!! 

 

we are at the point of looking into another solution as this one is not performing as expected! 

 

We hava a Yamaha mixer that does not have this issue so I know all my cables, Power amp, speakers etc work!!! 

 

Any ideas or clues???

 

Thanks in advance


  • 0

#4 ArneLine6

ArneLine6

    Line 6 Staff

  • Product Management
  • PipPip
  • 372 posts

Posted 06 July 2014 - 10:41 AM

Are you recalling setups or scenes? Does anyone else have an iPad for control? Did you look at the input trim levels?
There is nothing in the hardware or software that can change levels just by itself. What speaker system are you using?
  • 0

#5 dboomer

dboomer

    Line 6 Staff

  • Moderator
  • 2770 posts

Posted 06 July 2014 - 05:15 PM

Hi lalo

Can you email me the backup file for your unit? dboomer@line6.com

By itself the system should not operate like that. It's possible that you may have inadvertently programmed something in that is unexpected and causing your problem.

#6 angelojm

angelojm

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 12 July 2014 - 08:34 PM

Hi, I encounter these issues as well but with no solution. This is what I have and what happens. 2-L3T, 1-L3s, 3-Monitors, M20D stagescape, and the norm....Once I have the band all plugged in I would then start doing sound check on all the inputs.... What I do would noticed is that this issue usually happens in the beginning or maybe after breaks (can't recall)... This usually happens after I get the main vocs adjusted... Once I had her levels right I would start doing others but then I would noticed her volume was much lower... So, I would raise her volume or the overall volume and then after a few seconds or mins the sound would just be blasting and I would get crazy feedback...

 

The only think I could think of is that the power might off dropped or spiked... meaning, whatever outlets my equipment was plugged in the power must of dropped or increased. So, I'm thinking maybe there was at one point there was too much power being drawn from that one circuit breaker. IDK... just giving an educated guess...

Let me know what you think dboomer.

 

Also, what can I find the backup file on the M20D because this problem happen at our last gig.


  • 0

#7 dboomer

dboomer

    Line 6 Staff

  • Moderator
  • 2770 posts

Posted 13 July 2014 - 10:15 AM

I don't think low power from the wall would be audible. The speakers would shut off before you could hear any level change.

There are so many variables that you just have to eliminate them one by one. The most likely cause is that you have somehow told the mixer to do just exactly what it is doing somewhere down in the software. That's why I need to look at your setup.

Press the "I" button in the upper right hand corner and save a backup. Then email it to me.

#8 danielolsen_4

danielolsen_4

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 14 July 2014 - 01:35 PM

I know that it is a hardware fault.

 

bad connection. and every 1 min there is a pop sound.. 

 

ex, speaking in mic and the meter doesnt move enough. but if i yell one time the meter goes back to normal.. and sound normal again.

 

The monitor drop out ?. dont use it in rehersal situation..

 

Where is the tap tempo by the way..?

 

UPDATE UPDATE UPDATE


  • 0

#9 dboomer

dboomer

    Line 6 Staff

  • Moderator
  • 2770 posts

Posted 14 July 2014 - 01:44 PM

ex, speaking in mic and the meter doesnt move enough. but if i yell one time the meter goes back to normal.. and sound normal again.

 

Does this happen if you move that mic to another channel?

 

bad connection. and every 1 min there is a pop sound.. 

 

Is there a pop sound with no mics plugged in?



#10 danielolsen_4

danielolsen_4

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 15 July 2014 - 12:01 AM

Its fine if i change the channel

Pop sound is also there with no mic, but its louder when mic is plugget in. It also shows at the meter.

I have a Furman powerconditioner hooked up also.

Last gig it was channal 9-10 + monitor C that was bad.
  • 0

#11 dboomer

dboomer

    Line 6 Staff

  • Moderator
  • 2770 posts

Posted 15 July 2014 - 09:02 AM

I would recommend not using any power conditioners except for professional ones like SurgEx.  Its possible that the conditioner could be contributing to your problems.

 

How have you determined that the popping is coming from the mixer and not being caused by something else in the chain?

 

Can you make the popping happen at will or is it just random?

 

Are you using Line 6 speakers and do you have the system hooked up via L6 link?  If so then the use of non AES cables can cause popping.  



#12 danielolsen_4

danielolsen_4

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 15 July 2014 - 09:46 AM

You are kind of spinning the issue..

Before i had a yamaha 01v. And i never never ever had anything like this.

Some thing is wrong with the mixer. Deal with it. After next gig it will be sent back for repair og replacement for a not line6 mixer
  • -1

#13 dboomer

dboomer

    Line 6 Staff

  • Moderator
  • 2770 posts

Posted 15 July 2014 - 10:49 AM

No, I'm trying to help you solve a problem.  Hardware sometime fails and that's why there is a warranty, and while having a hardware failure is unlikely, having hardware failure from a second unit is highly unlikely.  It is much more likely that you have a system problem and that is why it has happened twice.  

 

Since I can't see the system and you have provided very few facts there's really not much I can do from this end.  If you would like some help I need the answers to all of the questions that I have raised.



#14 eukieb

eukieb

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts

Posted 15 July 2014 - 08:55 PM

Line6 needs to revisit the TRIM, TRIM TRACKING AND AUTO TRIM feature on this Mixer. I have said it before and maintain that it is causing problems within the Mixer.
  • 0

#15 Digital-sound

Digital-sound

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 398 posts

Posted 22 July 2014 - 09:08 PM

I have never used auto trim. I have always set the trim the old fashioned way. I do engage trim tracking on all channels just as a safety to avoid clipping (usually later in the night if you can imagine). I have had some issues with my board, but have overcome them usually by paying careful attention to what I have done. There is usually a reason for everything, and Dboomer and Arneline6 have seen and worked through many to all of them with people. Try to answer their questions, and send a back up file, and believe me, you will arrive at so every stress free, "set and forget", mixing.

(And don't thin the 01v has no issues. Just using it, compared to the m20d, is an "issue". But there are others.)

I don't mean to try and play down or deny any issues you may be having. I am just suggesting that if you need help, try to answer the questions. Sometimes, the solution is way off where you thought it would be.
  • 0

#16 dboomer

dboomer

    Line 6 Staff

  • Moderator
  • 2770 posts

Posted 23 July 2014 - 09:02 AM

We have tested and tested the Trim-tracking feature and can never get it to respond in a way that causes level drops.  I worked with a customer last week that though he was having this problem and it turned out that the level drops were in the speakers themselves (not Line 6) caused by drops in voltage from the wall.  That's not to say that someone couldn't have hardware issues but there is nothing I can do about that over the internet.  It is certainly possible that a mic pre could fail and drop the level but try as we may, we cannot get the software to cause that issue.

 

Auto-trim couldn't be any part of this problem.  So using it or not will only affect the distortion (and trim-tracking would address that) or extra noise in the system (so if the hiss doesn't bother you then there is also no problem).  

 

Setting the Trim correctly is the single most important setting in a mixer.  If it is off then you effectively re-scale all of your controls.  So if you try to adjust something there may not be as much adjustment possible as there could be if the trim was more correctly set. I guess if you don't make many adjustments then this may not be a problem for you.  Trim tracking does have a limit at which point it would stop protecting you from clipping but even then it does not turn down the channel level.  You have to hit the input with 200X the initial trim level to reach this point.  So don't plug lightning bolts into the XLRs  ;)  ;)



#17 lawrence_Arps

lawrence_Arps

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 31 July 2014 - 05:35 PM

I have been experiencing this level changing issue. It's happened on stereo inputs with one side suddenly losing gain as well as om momo inputs. It responds to being unplugged and replugged. My guess is that this is the connectors faulting...so far it's always been on the combo inputs using jacks rather than xlrs . Does this make any sense?
  • 0

#18 dboomer

dboomer

    Line 6 Staff

  • Moderator
  • 2770 posts

Posted 31 July 2014 - 05:50 PM

Next to faulty cables broken jack is high on the list for potential problems. It's easy to step on a cable and stress the connections. Sometimes some brands of connectors don't fit together as they did in the old days when there were only 2 brands. Now there's scores of them.

I would suggest first proving out your cables. Once you are positive the cables aren't faulty the. Try moving around on channels and see if the problem follows the source or follows the specific channel.

And you can open a service ticket and have if checked out back at Line 6.

#19 danielolsen_4

danielolsen_4

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 04 August 2014 - 09:17 PM

Problem solved for me. The shop took it back.

Its not a live mixer. Not any thing works as it should.

I bought a behringer x32

Everything sounds much better now.

Lorte line6 spasser røve.
  • 0

#20 onebass

onebass

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 05 August 2014 - 01:53 AM

I had the drop out problem on Input 1,  In the End I returned it to DV247 and they sent it back to Line6 to look at, In the report they changed a board inside.

 

It sounds as good as new now, Great service from DV247.


  • 0

#21 TheRealZap

TheRealZap

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 15721 posts
  • LocationClemmons, NC USA

Posted 05 August 2014 - 03:58 AM

that's exactly what it is...

 

 

maybe it's not for you...

many many others, LOVE it.

 

Its not a live mixer. Not any thing works as it should.
 


  • 0

#22 danielolsen_4

danielolsen_4

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 05 August 2014 - 10:55 PM

Okay, in other words. It is not for proffesionals...
  • 0

#23 TheRealZap

TheRealZap

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 15721 posts
  • LocationClemmons, NC USA

Posted 06 August 2014 - 03:41 AM

It surely is for professionals... it's just not for danielolsen's

 

Okay, in other words. It is not for proffesionals...


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users