Jump to content


Photo

Noisy Echo Park


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Monter

Monter

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 26 June 2014 - 11:56 PM

Hi

I love this pedal but as soon as I connect it into a chain with other pedals it generates a hideous sweeping noise which swishes in time with the delay light. I am using a Dunlop Power Brick to supply the power, so I am thinking the problem cannot be with that, yet if I power the Echo Park in isolation... It works fine. So what to do? Hoping someone out there has the answer

Regards
  • 0

#2 phil_m

phil_m

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 8730 posts
  • LocationMinneapolis, MN
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 27 June 2014 - 05:18 AM

The DC Brick is causing the problem. The ToneCore pedals are notorious for being noisy on daisy chain power supplies, and even though the DC Brick isn't a literal daisy chain like, say, the Visual Sound One Spot, it still is for all intents and purposes a daisy chain. What I mean by that is that its output aren't electrically isolated from one another. They are just wired in parallel with each other. If you have an actual isolated power supply, like the Voodoo Lab Pedal Power 2 Plus, than each output is isolated. It's like having a bunch of standalone power supplies. There's no crosstalk between the outputs.


  • 0

"It is not our duty to understand the arbitrary, meaningless dictates of machines"

- Don Norman in The Design of Everyday Things


#3 Brazzy

Brazzy

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2316 posts
  • LocationU.S.A.
  • Registered Products:16

Posted 27 June 2014 - 05:36 AM

I use a rechargeable battery pack that I made with 8 Rechargeable D Cell batteries, a battery holder and cable. It has 10 Ah. Works great and I can even daisy a few pedals with it 'cause it lasts for days of playing.
  • 0

"SoundCloud Playlist"

 

 

 

 

 


#4 Monter

Monter

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 27 June 2014 - 09:50 AM

Well that is what I suspected, thanks a lot for taking the time to reply and making my mind up!!
  • 0

#5 phil_m

phil_m

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 8730 posts
  • LocationMinneapolis, MN
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 27 June 2014 - 10:11 AM

One other option that I forgot about until just now is to pick up one of these little DC isolator things.

 

http://www.jrrshop.com/diagops09

 

You could put it between the output of the DC Brick and the Echo Park, and it should prevent that noise you're hearing.


  • 0

"It is not our duty to understand the arbitrary, meaningless dictates of machines"

- Don Norman in The Design of Everyday Things


#6 euanchan

euanchan

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 29 March 2015 - 03:55 AM

I have a problem like this too, I use a daisy chain and its the echo park causing a really fast clicking noise, sort of like static... Could it be a patch cable issue? or something else


  • 0

#7 phil_m

phil_m

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 8730 posts
  • LocationMinneapolis, MN
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 29 March 2015 - 04:42 AM

I have a problem like this too, I use a daisy chain and its the echo park causing a really fast clicking noise, sort of like static... Could it be a patch cable issue? or something else

 

It's the daisy chain power supply. In order to operate quietly, the ToneCore pedals need to have an isolated power supply. That means either using a standalone supply for the pedal or getting a power supply that has electrically isolated outputs - something like the Voodoo Lab PP2+. You can also buy the little inline isolators. For one pedal, that's probably the most inexpensive solution. But at $25 a piece, that would add up.


  • 0

"It is not our duty to understand the arbitrary, meaningless dictates of machines"

- Don Norman in The Design of Everyday Things


#8 777funk

777funk

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 03 May 2016 - 04:00 AM

I use a One Spot on my board and it works great. But, I only have around 5 pedals at a time running so YMMV.


  • 0