Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Struggling with setup

Denny385South

I am having a lot of trouble getting any kind of decent sound from my hd 500x. Are there any basic setup stuff I need to know? I'm playing into a fender Deville and are my tone controls supposed to be off? Through headphones it sounds bad. I'm not using variax guitar either. Are there basic setup steps in the pod I need to take? I'm very new to multi effect boards and am lost. Thanks

The best advice anyone can probably give is to just dig in and experiment. Don't let your thinking be constrained by how the equivalent real world effects actually work in the real world. There are really no right or wrong or any rules. So if something seems counter-intuitive, that same something might actually be a sound you're after.

Mess around with the DEP paramters of the amps and cabs. The sag control can give a looser or tighter feel to an amp. The bias control is a sort of (but not really) mid control, and bias excursion determines how much bias can stray. The cab resonance control is a kind of wet mix for the cab and gives the thump and decay parameters more or less effect. All of these things should really be the last thing you adjust after you have the amp in ballpark of where you want it.

And finally, here's a very helpful link:

http://foobazaar.com/podhd/toneGuide/

If you are connecting the HD500X output to your amp's guitar input, try setting the HD500X Output to Combo Front (not Studio Direct). Also experiment with using a PRE (rather than Full) amp model in the HD500X, and set your amp's tone controls as neutral as possible.

My advice would be to keep it simple at first and just try to get the fx to sound like you want through the amp.  Once you get a feel for how the HD500x works with your amp and what you need to tweak to get it to sound good then start exploring the other possibilities and connection methods.