These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: Relay Digital Wireless

Relay G-30 Dropout Experience
by mikeller on 2013-03-28 09:37:36

I have had a G-30 for several years and experience off and on dropouts. When this happens the LED's blink temporarily, so it is a drop out.

My bandmate has a G-50 and never has had one.  My G-30 rarely gets thru a show without them and sometimes they are numerous.

We do use Wi-Fi on stage with a Mackie system for controlling our IEM's with individually with iPad's, however the dropouts started long before we introduced that technology.

My receiver is mounted to a Pedaltrain Jr and supplied with the factory powersuppy into a power strip.  It resides by a Ernie Ball Wah and a Rocktron Banshee Talk Box - both of which are also plugged into the power strip mounted to the surface of the Pedaltrain.

I change batteries before everyshow - keeping the transmitter in a nanotech pouch on my guitar strap. I upgraded the cable to a Mogami Gold cable with right angle ends.

I have several guitars I gig with (all Ernie Ball Music Man) and the drop outs do not seem to be guitar-specific. 

Finally - I rarely venture more than 10-15 feet from the receiver and most often are within 5 feet of it.

Is there anything as I describe that could be causing interference?  We do have several wireless IEM's and mic's etc - but these dropouts were experienced before we got all the wireless. Would an upgrade to the G-50 be beneficial?

Thank you

Mike Keller

Re: Relay G-30 Dropout Experience
by dboomer on 2013-03-28 15:09:45

Hi Mike