These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: Spider Valve

Anyone want to help with a step by step DIY bias?
by Martallika666 on 2009-08-22 09:51:10

I am familiar with electronics. Was top in my class when I was in school, however that was 5/6 years ago! I have successfully modded a valvetronix ad30vt with a fx loop and all worked out fine.

What I am asking, is anyone up for walking me through, step by step, biasing my 112. I mean literally like "take this off, put this in there, wait,... and, your done" know what I mean?

It would be awesome to do it live like on facebook chat or something. Forgive me if this seems a little far fetched and ridiculous but I am a student with very minimal cash and the local guy wants to charge £40 ($75) to bias my amp! No thanks.

Re: Anyone want to help with a step by step DIY bias?
by pikeral on 2009-08-22 12:24:38

$75 is a small price to pay to not have your heart stop.... Here's a link for a biasing discussion that i found valuable, it's a long read but all the info you need is there. WARNING! you could DIE doing this yourself. A qualified tech should perform this.

http://line6.com/community/message/22536#22536

by Martallika666 on 2009-08-22 13:10:03

Thanks. I realise the safest option is to buy a bias probe rathe rthan prod around with a normal multimeter so i am getting one next week.

by Daniel-Ganfield on 2009-08-23 17:03:08