These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: Variax Guitars / Bass / Workbench

Variax 500 changes sounds automatically
by Antonio on 2009-09-02 15:28:09

Line 6 support,

My name is Antonio Monterroso, I am a serious music student that in 2005 bought a line 6 variax 500 (sunburst), its my only electric guitar and has been working in great condition until the past few weeks.

The problem I have is that the guitar changes sound automatically,

for instance, I want to use the Spank model in the 4th position, it works there for a while but then the guitar automatically changes sound to the previous model (the lester in the 4th position), without even touching the model selector.

I noticed that after this happens, with a soft touch on the selector the sound goes back to normal (spank model 4th position).

I haven't dropped the guitar, the guitar has some bumps from use but nothing serious, just 4 years of hard work.

I opened the guitar from behind and did notice that the whole selector thing moves when i change sound, and there is also a green cable that goes from inside of the jack imput to the tone control loose, i dont know if these could be the reason?

Any ideas?

Re: Variax 500 changes sounds automatically
by amx05462 on 2009-09-02 18:18:24

yoy defenitly need to tighten  that switch up its moving all the wires in the  large connector . that should not be loose.

by AndyParedes on 2009-09-03 13:12:11

Hello,

This information is helpful. See the following links for more trouble shooting options:

Variax Troublshooting Tips

http://line6.com/community/docs/DOC-3857

Ifyou are still having problems, take your unit to a Line 6 service center:

Product Repair

http://line6.com/community/docs/DOC-4285

Please be sure to award Helpful and/or Correct points to community members who respond with helpful or correct answers!

by Antonio on 2009-09-09 09:43:25