These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: POD Farm / POD Studio / TonePort

Setting up Cubase and Studio GX
by schlagi on 2009-11-25 04:57:36

Hello everybody

I'm new to line6 products and I needed a simple tool to help me recording my guitar so I purchased the GX device.

(Before I used to record with my vox tonelab se which i plugged into my maudio card. And I never had any problems. Though it was very bulky. )

Everything works well when using the standalone pod farm.

However when I try to record in cubase with clean output of my GX I suffer latency from about 29ms.

I also tried several asio drivers in cubase. Asio 4 all, and the Asio GX driver.

Moreover I played around with buffer size to reduce latency but nothing seems to work. It even causes clicking.

And finally of course I did all firmware updates for usb and the GX device.

My question is how do I set up  cubase and GX correctly just to record the clean output without latency and clicking problems.

(Considering that TONE DIRECT MONITORING, as always stated in product descriptions, should help me not even having to think about latency)

System specs:

windows xp

1gb ram

3,5 GHZ cpu

(cpu usage of 10% when cubase is in use)

Huge THX for all hints advance!!

RE: Setting up Cubase and Studio GX
by ricksox on 2009-11-25 14:08:35

Hello,

The only time Tone Direct Monitoring comes into play is if you are using POD Farm in stand alone mode. If you want to use the driver then you'll be using our ASIO driver which is different.

I hate to say it but our ASIO driver does suffer from some higher then normal latency. We're planning on improving them but for now that's how they work.