These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: POD Farm / POD Studio / TonePort

Using a the UX2 with Garageband on a new Macbook Pro
by Simon_Trussler on 2009-03-24 03:25:15

Last week, I bought a Line 6 UX2 .  I wanted something to plug in instruments, including an electric guitar, into Garageband on my my new mac laptop (a new spec Macbook Pro).  I'm new to using Macs, and am struggling to hook the whole thing up.

Specifically, I can't get Garageband to find the UX2/Podfarm.  Could you advise me on how to set this thing up as it doesn't come with any instructions?  I'd be grateful if someone could give me a few step by step pointers of how to make it work.

What I have done:

- installed Podfarm onto the Mac

- plugged the UX2 into the laptop

- plugged in a guitar

- Podfarm recognises the guitar no problem so there is no issue w connection.  And when I put headphones into the UX2, it works fine.  I can hear the guitar nicely, change settings etc.  Not too different to having a Pod but in the computer.  Just what I was hoping.

- however, when I am in Garageband I haven't got a clue of how to get Garageband to find an output from Podfarm (which I would want to record guitar) or directly from the UX2 (which I would want to record vocals, mic'd up instruments, or DI'd instruments straight into Garageband).  Could you help advise on how I can make this work?  As I say, I would be most grateful for some simple step by step tips!  Assume I know nothing and you're pretty close!

Many thanks

Simon Trussler

Re: Using a the UX2 with Garageband on a new Macbook Pro
by AndyParedes on 2009-03-24 15:03:06

Most recording applications need to know "where" to look for the signal, so be sure that your Garageband track is assigned to the UX2, and that you have the appropriate input selected in Gearbox.  Beyond that, you should take a look at the Garageband documentation or see if they can help you at the "genius bar".

Line6Andy