These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: Line 6 Lounge

Memorize the fretboard using the Circle of Fifths.....
by drolfs on 2010-02-25 19:04:02

One of the hardest task I found as a new guitar player (I'm 57 and began learning the guitar 4 years ago) was learning the fretboard; especially the notes across the fretboard.  I used commercially  produced flash cards that I reviewed on a daily basis for about 2 years (yeh...I'm a dentist, so I'm a slow learner....) and they worked well for me.  Robert Luther Dietz has an excellent text on the BEAD System, which uses the circle of fifths (no, I don't know him and he didn't pay me for recommending his text); but I would like to add a small enhancement to his system.

Spend some time looking up the Circle of Fifths on the web....it's all over the place and explained very well.  Take a few minutes and memorize the sequence of the Circle of 5th's.......BEAD GCF Bb Eb Ab Db F#(Gb).......all that you are really memorizing is BEAD GCF....just repeat it with flats.  I get hung up at the bottom of circle with that F# (Gb) thing (enharmonics)....but you'll figure that out in your head after awhile.

circle_of_fifths.jpg

If you have memorized the strings from top the bottom (EADGBE), you can now start reading across the fretboard starting at the low E (6th) string.

This is the sequence you follow to read across the fretboard:

1) Find your 6th string note on the Circle of 5th's (let's use open E)

2) Read counter-clockwise around the Circle of 5th's for 4 spaces ( that is,   EADG).  These are strings 6,5,4,3

3) Now, find the note that is one space clockwise from your starting 6th string note (in this case it is B).  This is string 2.

4) Of course, your 1 string is the same as your 6 string.

This sounds difficult, but if you memorize the BEAD GCF BbEbAbDb  thing, you can quickly figure out any note on the fretboard if you know the 6th string.  This is the formula: