These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: Spider Valve

Better line 6 spider valve mkII 212 or 112?!?
by Milano79 on 2010-08-20 05:09:25

Hi everyone, I am a rookie with  Line 6 but I think between today and tomorow I will purchase a Spider  Valve MKII 112 or 212 in Milan, Italy.

Folks please help! It is  not a matter of money since the price difference is really  insignificant, but which one has a thicker sound? I thought the 212 w/ 2  speakers has more dynamics and is broader and roomier but an expert  technician told me that - since the power is only 40 W - the 112 w/ one  cone suffers less the low wattage of the power amp compared to the 2  speakers pushed by only 40 W.

Do you think it is true or it's his impression? Afterall 2x12 schould be fatter than 1x12, no?

Suggestions? Ideas?

Re: Better line 6 spider valve mkII 212 or 112?!?
by Apologist on 2010-08-20 05:16:18

The 1x12 will likely sound tighter and more focused (possibly thicker depending on how you define it by your ear) the 2x12 as you suspect is likely going to sound more airy or roomier but perhaps not quite as focused.

Guys with mith more tech experience will likely weigh in on the wattage thing per speaker and my guess tell you that it aint gona matter too much in regards to the thickness of your sound.

by Karl_Houseknecht on 2010-08-20 05:29:06

Low wattage?  They might say 40 watts, but my amp tech guy here in town says more like 55 when he actually measured the output.  That wattage of tube power section can push a 412 so loud that your ears will bleed, so I don't think you got terrlbly sound advice concerning the 212.

by Nick_Mattocks on 2010-08-20 07:16:06

OK - I own an original Spider Valve MkI 112 and a Spider Valve MkII 212.  As far as the power amp circuits go they are both identical or very nearly identical as far as I can see.  The 'front end' or pre-amp/DSP sections are different and it's these that give the amps their various flavours.