These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: Riffworks Line 6 / Standard Edition

Using guitarport as interface for mac
by pahunter43 on 2010-08-23 18:43:22

Hey, ive been using guitarport/riffworks on my PC for awhile now. I just got a macbook pro and put gearbox on it and want to use my guitarport also. I hook the USB port in, the light on guitarport is green. Gearbox shows that it picks up the guitar playing (the lights light up when i strum the guitar), but nothing comes out of the speakers. I have checked every volume knob on the mac, on gearbox, on my guitar, in every setting possible. If i listen to i-tunes, or anytihng on hte internet, the sound comes out of the speakers like normal

I had read elsewhere that the drivers need to be uninstalled? Im not that good with computers so im confused. Can you help me out? I would also like to be able to use the interface for garageband

RE: Using guitarport as interface for mac
by Line6david on 2010-08-25 08:09:00

Hi,

You need to go the system preferences in OSX:

In the dock at the bottom of your screen click on the icon that looks like a silver box with gears in it.

Next click on the sound icon on the system preferences screen.

You should be able to select the GuitarPort as your audio interface in this window.

Now you computer's sound will be routed through the guitar port instead of the built in speakers on the Mac Book Pro.

Thanks,

David

Line 6 Customer Support

Re: RE: Using guitarport as interface for mac
by pahunter43 on 2010-08-25 18:58:10

David,

I appreciate the help. I guess I still am not getting something right. My guitarport doesnt show up as an option for audio input or output in the system preferences sound menu. The green light is on, but thats about it.