These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: POD Farm / POD Studio / TonePort

Toneport UX2 with SONAR... MIDI Output
by gphowell on 2010-09-27 12:16:40

OK, let's "pretend" for a minute that I'm a complete noob and don't know much about home-recording, MIDI etc

I have a UX2 connected to SONAR and I'm using the UX2 as input & output with other soundcards disabled.

I want to be able to write a drum-track in SONAR and be able to monitor/hear it through the UX2. I can't get any output at the moment: if I switch to my soundcard I can hear the drum-track but not if I use the UX2.

I understand the the UX2 is not a MIDI device, but is there a way to get this to work? A plug-in or something?

If someone could give me a quick (and mono-syllabic) walkthrough, that's be great...

Thanks

G

Re: Toneport UX2 with SONAR... MIDI Output
by silverhead on 2010-09-27 12:39:59

Try using headphones with your UX2 to moitor the sound. When your UX2 is used as the computer's soundcard (which it is when it's connected to SONAR) then you must monitor the sound through your UX2. You can also connect your external computer speakers to the UX2 outputs if you prefer.

by TheRealZap on 2010-09-27 12:53:03

ahhhh!

this one is somewhat tricky... your consumer soundcard has likely got a basic soundfont or midi mapped sounds of some sort which is why it can hear some midi files...

the L6 drivers do not have any such thing...

this is why you can't hear midi...

the solution, that you will have to learn about sooner or later if you are going to work with midi for recording is VSTi's

or VST instruments.

its basically a plugin that you put on the track like you do for pod farm that does audio to audio... except the VSTi goes midi to audio.

i use toontrack ezdrummer and super drummer for my midi drums http://www.toontrack.com/

itsa bit pricy....

but try this free package to get the concept first...

http://www.meldaproduction.com/mdrummer/