These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: POD HD

Support forums for all POD HD products

Going from Floor Pod Plus to HD500 - need suggestions for getting started, set-up, etc.
by jcollinsmd on 2010-10-16 07:03:43

Great forum, guys.  Tons of helpful information.

I am a fairly novice electric player, although I have been playing acoustic for several years.  I have a floor pod plus, and while it is a decent piece of equipment, I quickly learned its limitations, especially in the aare of being able to order effects in a chain and turn them on and off.  I have recently ordered the HD500, and need some ideas/help for getting started.

Here are my questions:

1.  Just to get me excited, how much better is the tone going to sound?  (that's an easy one, but I needed to get my juices going - I've been salivating for days now)

2.  Any ideas about some good 'templates' for getting started with creating tone, etc?  I will be using it in this way -

a.  Home - (Fender Frontman 25w solid state amp, or headphones)

b.  Live - church setting direct through the PA system

3.  Any good ideas/helpful suggestions for ordering effects once I start to set up tone/effect chains?

4.  Best idea to hook-up to the PA system for stereo sound?  I have previously been using a direct box from the floor pod plus's mono output, switched to 'direct' mode.  However, I REALLY want to take advantage of the stereo delays (ping pong, etc.) and dual amp modes to get some cool stereo effects.

Thanks guys!  It's great to read all of these posts, but until my HD500 gets here, it is like watching someone eat a 16oz ribeye from Ruth's Chris through the window - Torture!!

Jason

Re: Going from Floor Pod Plus to HD500 - suggestions for getting started, set-up, etc.
by Nick_Mattocks on 2010-10-16 08:08:52

Hi

I'll do my best to answer your questions.