These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: POD HD

Support forums for all POD HD products

POD HD300 Dual mode sounding horrible!
by korn568 on 2010-11-04 06:49:14

Hello People, my first post here.  I've been using "Pods" for about 8 years now, just bought the HD300 a few weeks ago and still can't figure out the dual output mode (selectable via the three-way switch in the back), I think it's got a bug or sth.. When I select the "DUAL" mode, the unit is supposed to send LIVE signal to the left outputs (both balanced and unbalanced) and STUDIO signal to both the right outputs. I plug my tube PA into the left unbalanced output, and that goes into speaker cabs (with guitar speakers). With the 3-way switch in the "LIVE" position everything sounds good, but when I switch it to "DUAL", not only does it lower the volume(not a real problem), but it also changes the sound to become much worse (as if something changed in the cab simulation on the POD). Well, I just wondered whether someone else also experienced this problem.. A gig is coming next week and I'm wondering if I'll be able to use the right balanced output to send to the house pa system and the left unbalanced output to my onstage rig.  Thanks, Corn.

Re: POD HD300 Dual mode sounding horrible!
by Rowbi on 2010-11-04 09:05:15

not sure if the 300 is different, but on my HD400 dual means the balanced outputs are studio, and the unbalanced outputs are live....

by silverhead on 2010-11-04 09:16:17

I haven't actually tried this on my HD400, and I had expected it to work the way you say, Rowbi. I'm glad to hear that it actually does work that way - like the X3 Live.

Nonetheless, Korn568 is correct - the manual does describe it as he indicates: