These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: POD X3

Whats dif between Compressors?
by Tombolino on 2010-11-28 17:34:47

Trying to experiement and understand best uses for X3's compressors for different genres/styles, would love your input

My impressions and guesses so far are:

-Blue Comp---low Volume, more for Acoustic?

-Vetta Comp - not sure what its best suited for really

-Red Comp-Adds some distortion? Not as potent as...

-Compression (the single standing one)-- Seems to be loudest, and colors the tone and does provide most compression effect.

Do you guys ever use COmpression plus one of the Stomp Compressors?

thanks

Re: Whats dif between Compressors?
by Tombolino on 2010-11-30 06:03:47

bump a bump

by pchapple on 2010-11-30 09:28:43

I'm not an expert on this I'm afraid, but if it helps, I tend to use the Red Comp before a slightly crunchy amp for a nice articulate blues tone, or in front of a high gain amp like the treadplate for definition.  So I turn the gain on the amp down a little and the drive the amp with the compressor - I find it is clearer than just driving the amp.  The COMP block I use after the Amp to smooth things out a little and and add a bit of bite, or level.

Still trying to learn things myself, so not sure how correct this all is strictly speaking.

by Tombolino on 2010-12-01 06:37:32

thanks mate.

Would love more opinions, anybody?

by timothybaugh on 2010-12-01 10:30:55

It's not easy to answer ...