These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: POD HD

Support forums for all POD HD products

Pod HD vs. Software Amp Sims
by cabir on 2011-01-15 08:28:28

hullo,

i've been following some of the threads on this forum for a few weeks now. i'm getting my Pod HD500 day after. i've been using Guitar Rig for around 3 years now. i quite like it in general, it's more like i have a love-hate relationship with it. but up until now, it's given me everything i need. i'm getting the HD to play live, since i don't want to lug my macbookpro around to gigs. i've heard demos, seen youtube videos etc and i'm quite convinced, but just wondering, how does the HD's amp modeling and effects compare to the current software amp sims that are out these days... Native Instruments Guitar Rig 3/4, Peavey ReValver MKIII, Amplitube, Overloud TH1/2, even some of the free one's like LePou's plugs..!!

would be great if anyone's who's used both can add something here..!

thanks.

kabir.

Re: Pod HD vs. Software Amp Sims
by meambobbo on 2011-01-15 15:07:21

I think the software ones are better, having used some of LePou's and the Revalver demo, more in terms of versatility than tone.  In tone, they are pretty close.  The LE456 is pretty much amazing.  The plugins are more versatile, because you get the complete amps - clean channels as well as high gain, and the boost switches, etc.  The Pod only models one channel per amp with fixed options (ie a bright boost would be permanently on or off, etc), besides the standard adjustable gain/bass/mid/treble/presence controls.