These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: POD Farm / POD Studio / TonePort

How would I connect a keyboard for MIDI functionality?
by CrispyGuitar on 2011-02-06 07:08:30

I want to connect a Yamaha YPT-210 keyboard to use it as a midi device for VST instrument plugins in Reaper. How would I connect this keyboard to use

it with a Studio UX-2?

Im new to MIDI so try to make the explanation simple.

Re: How would I connect a keyboard for MIDI functionality?
by silverhead on 2011-02-06 07:57:52

It's real simple - the UX2 is not a midi interface. You can't transmit midi commands such as note on/off from your keyboard through the UX2 to Reaper for recording a midi track, or for triggering a VST via midi.

You can send the keyboard's audio output through the UX2 to Reaper by connecting the keyboard output to the UX2 input - but that's all you can do with it. No midi.

by CrispyGuitar on 2011-02-06 08:15:13

So there is NO way possible to use the keyboard as a MIDI interface with the UX2?

Couldn't I connect the keyboards midi output to my computer through USB and then set the UX2 as my main sound card in the

control panel?

by silverhead on 2011-02-06 08:30:37

I'm not sure I understand. The UX2 does not handle midi, so you can't connect your keyboard to the UX2 as a midi device.

You can use the UX2 as your soundcard and connect your keyboard to your computer/DAW (not to the UX2) for midi purposes as long as you have the required midi interface to your computer.

CrispyGuitar wrote:

Couldn't I connect the keyboards midi output to my computer through USB .