These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: Lowdown

Reason for LD 175 and 300 being discontinued
by MrBill06 on 2011-02-12 13:57:00

I am currently learning to play the bass, with the goal of playing for my church choir.  I am about to invest in an combo amp.  A local store sales Line 6 Bass amps.  But there largest combo amp is the LD 150.  They told me the 175 was discontinued and can't be obtained.  However, I found a source for both the LD 175 and the 300.

The cost is not insignificant.  So I want to make the best investment.  I am an electrical engineer and understand that any product has a life cycle.  Also understand that parts become obsolete making a product unsupportable.  With that said:

1) are there any technical reasons I shouldn't not purchase the LD 175?  Specifically, known problem that occurs that there were recalls for or service bulletin?

2) Same question for LD 300 (any technical reason not to purchase and any known service bulletins or recalls)?

3) What years were the LD 175 and 300 manufacturing began?  Will there be an issue of parts becoming obsolete which will make the amps unservicable in the coming years?  Mainly, will service centers be able to get the parts to repair?  On one online review a reviewer claims he had a LD 175 that had issues, couldn't get it repaired to his satisfaction and the amp just became a piece of furniture in his living room (don't know if true or not).

Thank you in advance for your response!

Mr.Bill06

Re: Reason for LD 175 and 300 being discontinued
by TheRealZap on 2011-02-12 14:32:47

both models are listed as current and are not discontinued: http://line6.com/lowdown/

there are always going to be people with bad experiences... but i'm on this site alot....

and there are no re-occuring or common issues with either model...

by MrBill06 on 2011-02-12 18:29:34