These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: POD Farm / POD Studio / TonePort

Output latency
by Criccle on 2011-03-23 05:23:56

Hi all,

I'm quite new to recording and stuff and recently bought a KB37. I connected it to my pc and installed all included software (Ableton Live Lite 7, Riffworks T4, Reason Adapted and both PODFarm 1 and 2). After installing the software I downloaded Line 6 Monkey (v 1.3.4) which has updated everything to the newest version. After this I thought I was ready to try and play...I started POD Farm, which works perfectly, but I got no output. So in my computer's sound options I made the Line 6 KB37 my primary device for recording and I checked the box: Listen to this device. This enabled me to hear my own guitar but just with incredible lag: 100 - 160 ms lag (measured with DCP).

How can I fix this...? My understanding was that you should be able to just jam using POD Farm and not experience this amount of lag. Maybe I did something wrong somewhere or I'm missing something, but I hope someone can help me.

Thanks!

Re: Output latency
by silverhead on 2011-03-23 06:38:34

Are you monitoring the sound using the KB37? If not, try using its headphones jack or connecting your speakers directly to its outputs. You should also configure your computer to use the KB37 as its soundcard (I'm not sure that checking the 'Listen to this device' box does that).

by Criccle on 2011-03-23 06:47:43

Not that I know of, my impression was that the USB cable sent the signal directly to my pc (and therefore my speakersystem). Besides the USB cable I've plugged none in (is this wrong?).

The headphones jack works fine with POD Farm and other programs though, no latency there. But whenever I plug my headphones jack into my pc (microphone input) I get the same latency as before. The same goes for the keyboard, I've added a midi track in Cubase and I still get a way too high latency.