These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: POD HD

Support forums for all POD HD products

Advice needed: POD HD500 and Vox Big Bad Wah
by yureetchong on 2011-06-09 10:27:22

Hi guys:

I am new to this discussion/forum. I am also a new to POD HD500. I have a Vox Big Bad Wah that I want to use along with the POD HD500.

My setting:

Guitar - Gibson Les Paul Classic (496R/500T humbucker pickup). set the Guitar In to PAD.

Listen through headphone with Studio/Direct.

connection 1. Guitar --> Wah --> Pod HD500 --> headphone

connection 2. Guitar --> POD HD500 --> FX Send (Stomp voltage level)--> Wah --> Fx return (Stomp voltage level) with the FX loop in front of the effect chain.

However, all the sound that I got are pretty dirty and noisy (with different setting on the amp/wah itself). I tried with different amp model and just couldnt get the 'typical' wah sound. It is like the frequency spectrum of the sound are not linear or something.

So, I need some advice from you guys the tips of connecting the Vox Big Bad Wah (or any external wah pedal) to the POD HD500. Any advice will be very much appeaciated! Thanks in advance!!

Re: Advice needed: POD HD500 and Vox Big Bad Wah
by gregr on 2011-06-09 10:38:00

Did you reduce the send level going to the Big Bad Wah when it was in the fx loop, and make sure to put the loop at the very beginning of the chain?

I've found that I need to reduce the send level by 5dB to match as closely as possible the volume coming from my guitar which has a Seymour Duncan JB, which is hardly a low output pickup.

by spaceatl on 2011-06-09 11:02:03

I am not a fan of outboard wah pedals anymore...More than enough models for me in the POD and there are a lot of benefits to using a digital wah model...No pots to wear out, signal impedance stays in check and less to carry around...