These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: Line 6 Lounge

Aaargh! Gear snobs.
by wjoyce on 2011-08-14 12:37:27

I played my first gig in 10 years last night.  It was also my first gig playing six-string EVER.  I'm a drummer first and foremost, and  played bass for 3 years in a band many years ago, but I was asked to play lead in my brother-in-laws covers band so thought why not.

I'm a bit of a Line 6 fanboy I suppose.  I don't like everything they've done, but I've owned the original Pod, then the XT, Toneport, Variax, X3 and, more recently, a Flextone 3.

I'm also not able to blow £500 on a "proper" guitar.  Instead, I choose to buy cheapie Squiers and then customise them to my specs.  I love nothing more than picking up a teenagers discarded Squier for 30 quid, ripping the guts out, choosing pickups, setting up etc.  In my opinion, these guitars give many more expensive "better" guitars a run for their money.

When this position came up, I stuck with what I knew from my many years of bedroom noodling (not a euphemism btw) and went with the X3 Live into the return on the Flextone.  It took a bit of tweaking to get what I wanted over several rehearsals, but I got there in the end.

Anyway, I turned up at the gig to find the bands old guitarist doing the sound.  I set my gear up and, in an vain attempt to make conversation with him, I confessed I wasn't sure how it would all sound live.  He replied with a whole load of crap about how he hated Line 6 gear, multi-FX units etc, and that it was valve all the way for him.

Now, I'll admit that I haven't played a great deal of valve gear to be able to compare, but his attitude just sucked.  I dismissed any doubts I had when I got that bad boy cranked up.  He didn't speak to me after the gig.

Thanks Line 6.

B.

Re: Aaargh! Gear snobs.
by Karl_Houseknecht on 2011-08-14 13:17:01

I love stories like this.  The proof is all in the pudding, i.e. - the tone.

wjoyce wrote: