These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: POD Farm / POD Studio / TonePort

Crackling in headphones with POD UX1
by warhols on 2009-05-03 19:50:34

I recently purchased a POD  Guitarport UX1 for my new HP Pavilion dv7-1240us Notebook, mainly to be used for basic, beginner recording. I have no experience with recording software, so I am unable to determine the specific cause of this issue: I went into the POD Farm, using my UX1 as my audio in/out. For about five minutes, things seemed good, and I was mixing and matching amps and effects and playing around, with my headphones on. Then, a high end, electronic static crackling started. This did not go away, no matter if I changed guitars or headphones, and the audio of my guitar is barely heard. At times it sounds like it's trying to fight it's way through the static.The POD level meters were indicating that the sound was audible to the system, as the left/right volume levels were going up and down. The only thing that made it go away was turning down the output on the UX1 to 0. Is there a specific cause to this? A sound card, USB controller? I also adjusted the driver latency and buffer to the smallest amount, and this did nothing as well.