These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: POD HD

Support forums for all POD HD products

Clean 12-string?
by tigerlen on 2011-09-04 06:39:54

Hi,

I'm very new to all this, so apologies if I'm don't use the right terms etc.

I'm looking for a preset on the POD HD to match Bon Jovi's Wanted Dead Or Alive setup. There seem to be a couple of 12-string presets ('cheap' and 'dirty'), but they're not right for this. Also, I've looked at the custom tones on the website and couldn't see anything there (although I haven't actually imported and tested them out).

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Kind regards,

Lenny

Re: Clean 12-string?
by Nick_Mattocks on 2011-09-04 08:23:56

Hi Lenny

For that kind of Dead or Alive sound you really need a 12 string electro-acoustic, an electric guitar with piezo undersaddle bridge pickup or a Line 6 Variax/James Tyler Variax guitar. 

You may find something suitable in a synth style guitar or a guitar synth but realistically most synthesised attempts i've heard at getting a 12 string acoustic sound haven't been great.

The POD HD does not include a 12 string acoustic emulator effect and the two you mention, whilst not bad if you needed something to sound like a 12 string guitar in the context of a bigger sounding 'band' mix won't really deliver what you're looking for sorry.

The James Tyler Variax series guitars do include acoustic six and twelve string models and the twelve string model would allow you to get pretty close to what you are after whilst allowing you to switch to electric guitar for the power parts of the song as well as the solo, but you'd need a mimium of about £950 GBP to secure one new (JTV-89) which is possibly something different to what you had in mind.

Nick

by relayerjb on 2011-09-04 11:13:08