These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: POD HD

Support forums for all POD HD products

How to set the overdrive/screamer, and compressor effects?
by Talenless on 2011-09-30 10:11:07

So i'm pretty much an effecttard. when i used to play through my 50-watt tube combo i would just plug straight in, and get my OD from the amp's gain and volume knobs. maybe use a digital delay in the effects loop.

now that i have all of these OD/screamer/distortion effects right there, i'm wondering how to set the controls. i've always read that the gain gets set to zero, and the volume set to 10.

is this the typical way to use this effect?

also, i've never used a compressor effect before. and am pretty clueless how to set these things.

but i think that this goes before the OD effect

is there a page with tutorials, explanations, descriptions of how and why?

Re: How to set the overdrive/screamer, and compressor effects?
by duey101 on 2011-09-30 10:37:32

In general I set a Red Comp in the chain first and set it to 49%-49% and adjust up from that.  When I use distortion I set those at 49% to start as well, and then adjust up or down depending on what sound I want.  Normally I mix a Tube Driver with a Fuzz PI or a Tube Screamer (Tube Driver comes after Fuzz PI or Screamer).  I made a guide on my website for my You Tube followers to use.  You can look at that for general information on how I create tones (David Gilmour) and what steps I take and why, that may be useful.

http://www.dueymoore.com/david_gilmour_tone_guide_pod_h.html

by TheRealZap on 2011-09-30 10:57:44

excellent work Duey... i'm going to have to give these a whirl.

by meambobbo on 2011-09-30 11:23:54