These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: James Tyler Variax Guitars

Support community for JTV.

Unable to correct JTV-59 intonation
by bmcmanus on 2011-10-29 11:24:33

After a few weeks with the JTV-59, I noticed a minor problem with intonation, most notably the A and G strings.  Also, as an longtime acoustic guitarist, I wanted a little higher action. 

I raised the bridge a tad, and when I began aligning the intonation, I noticed that the saddles for the E and G strings were already butted hard against the metal at the rear of the bridge.  The A string was nearly touching.  As I aligned each string, I found that I was unable to fully correct the intonation on the low E, A, and G strings, since the saddles were extended as far back as they would go.  The intonation is off by approx. 8-12 cent on each of those strings (the fingered 12th fret is sharp from the harmonic) and cannot be adjusted further.

FYI, the high E saddle is at the midpoint of its adjustable range, and all other strings are behind that.  It appears as though the bridge is not placed correctly.

What are the options with this problem?  Is there a way I can adjust the entire bridge away from the neck by about 1/16-1/8inch?  Should I return the instrument to L6?  Is this something a regional repair center can resolve?  Is this a generic problem with the Korean models?

Best Regards,

Bud

Re: Unable to correct JTV-59 intonation
by edstar1960 on 2011-10-30 10:49:18

Hi Bud,

On the rear of the JTV59 bridge, on both the left and right (top and bottom) sides, just above the screw posts, you will see allen key sockets. These allow you to move the bridge forward (towards the nut) or back (away from the nut). You should be able to move your bridge back to allow you to then move the saddles further back and set the intonation correctly.

The JTV59 allows you to move the entire bridge up and down or back and forward as well as the individual saddle movement.

Best Regards

Eddie