These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: GearBox

Help please. New to digital recording. Easiest way to record using GuitarPort/GearBox?
by Gandalf5150 on 2011-11-15 02:37:05

As I'm new to digital recording, I'm looking for suggestions as to what is the easiest/most suitable software fto use?

I have plenty recording analogue experience, si I understand basic recording requirements, but what is the easiest way to record from GearBox?

Do I need L6 software, would Cakewalk Guitar tracks be good, or will Audacity suffice? Any other suggestions?

Thanks in advance

Re: Help please. New to digital recording. Easiest way to record using GuitarPort/GearBox?
by fflbrgst on 2011-11-15 06:17:06

Audacity is very limited.

Have you tried Reaper?  It's free to try out and not expensive to register.  http://www.reaper.fm

Re: Help please. New to digital recording. Easiest way to record using GuitarPort/GearBox?
by Triryche on 2011-11-15 18:03:45

+1 to fflbrgst's suggestion to Reaper.

(Hope I don't confuse you, but here's by 2 cents)

IMHO it is one of the best bang for your buck DAW's currently availble.

(DAW = Digital Audio Workstation).

Just for clarification, you do not record with Gearbox per se, but with the Guitarport interface.

**Gearbox is just the graphical user interface for your Guitarport.

I think Reaper goes for $60 USD for a noncomercial license, and that includes upgrades thru Reaper 5.x (they are cirrently at 4.x). They also have a helpful forum.

If you try Reaper, to get started, in the audio preferences of Reaper select the Line6 ASIO device.

Arm a track for recording, and away you go!!

If you are in the market for an upgrade you might want to look into one of the newer POD Studio's (GX, UX1, UX2 KB37...). I mention this because the new POD Studio's come with POD Farm 2.5 stand alone and plug-in. If you don't already know, the POD Farm 2.5 plug-in is like having a virtual Guitarport in your DAW.