These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: POD Farm / POD Studio / TonePort

Distorted sound problems with POD Studio UX2 and Reaper
by RigourousMortuus on 2011-12-15 15:02:07

Hey everyone,

So, I've been using Reaper with my POD Studio UX2 for a couple months now and I've come across a strange distortion problem with playback. At certain points in my songs, the playback will get extremely distorted and almost slow down. If you've ever watched an extremely old VHS tape, then you'll know what I mean. The pitch goes all over the place, and it sounds almost "boingy," for lack of a better word.  The weird thing is that it only happens in small parts of the song on certain tracks. I can move clips around and they'll sound fine everywhere else, except for those small, 3 second areas where the distortion happens. Also I found if I export the project as an MP3 or WAV then the distortion is still there, which makes me think it's more possible that the issue is playback with my UX2, rather than Reaper. If I import MP3's from Reason to Reaper, it sometimes distorts that audio too, although from what I messed with, it stays that way regardless of where the clip is moved to. I've searched around and hardly found any answers or really that many other people are having the same problem. I would have posted this in a Reaper support forum, but seeing as how the only people I found having even vaguely the same issues as me were using Line 6 PODs, I figured I'd post it here. All of my drivers are up to date, or so Line 6 Monkey says.

Is this a problem with playback on my UX2, Reaper, or buffering/sample rates maybe?

I've attached a short clip of what the problem sounds like. If you need more information on my system specs, installed drivers, or software versions to help me solve this problem, say so and I'll see what I can do.

Any help is greatly appreciated and thank you!

specs:

Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit