These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: FBV MkI / MkII Controllers

setting up a fbv MKII shortboard
by oldbikedude on 2011-12-27 14:47:19

hello, I am new to the line 6 music world. I am trying to set up my son's shortboard. I do not understand all the amp lingo. What is a bank, a patch, port, channel & a midi? All I want to do is get a few of the amp preset song settings available with one click of the foot. If anyone has the patience to help a beguinner I would greatly appreciate it.  

Re: setting up a fbv MKII shortboard
by fflbrgst on 2011-12-28 05:19:18

Which Spider amp are you using?  The best place to start is with the equipment manuals.  You can get copies of them here:  http://line6.com/support/manuals/

Bank - a group of channel presets  (1 bank has 4 channels)

Channel - a location where a patch is stored

Patch - a particular tone, including all the settings that make that tone

MIDI - Musical Instrument Digital Interface  - this is the industry standard for sending signals betwen electronic instruments and software (it is not the same as digitized audio).  If you are just using an DBV controller and an amp, MIDI does not come into play.

by oldbikedude on 2011-12-28 12:18:17

First off, thanks for replying. The amp is a spyder jamm. Would the term for a song preset on the amp be a patch?

by fflbrgst on 2011-12-29 05:47:07

Here's the link for the advanced Spider Jam manual, which deals mostly with the recording features:  http://l6c.scdn.line6.net/data/l/0a0600726998490212ba88448/application/pdf/Spider%20Jam%20Advanced%20Guide%20(Rev%20B)%20-%20English.pdf

Here's the easy manual:  http://l6c.scdn.line6.net/data/l/0a0600724a334af318bd2fcd4/application/pdf/Spider%20Jam%20Pilot's%20Guide%20(Rev%20H)%20-%20English.pdf

A preset channel is the location that a patch is stored in.

by oldbikedude on 2011-12-29 12:46:10