These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: POD HD

Support forums for all POD HD products

Problem connecting HD500 to an amplifier
by seanbaker1 on 2012-01-18 11:43:13

Hello,

HD500 newbie here.  I tried searching but try to search for anything with "amp" or "amplifier" give just too many results.

I typically play my HD500 with headphones or through some M-Audio monitors.  Works and sounds terrific. 

But I think I might be missing something, or just not understand how things work.  When I try to send the output to a solid state amp, there is a horrible static noise that makes it unuseable.  I have a Spider III 15-watt amp and a nice Roland AC-90, I've tried both and get the same results, just bad noise as soon as I plug the cable in.  I've tried every possible setting and input on both amps, and I've tried switching the line/amp switch on the HD500.

Interestingly, I get the exact same noise when I try to plug my Guitar Rig Mobile into one of the solid state amps. 

Is there something I'm missing, or are you just not able to use these types of modeling devices with a solid state amp?

Sorry for the noob question, and thanks for your help,

Sean.

Re: Problem connecting HD500 to an amplifier
by jasonbogen on 2012-01-18 11:55:51

What output are you using?  You should be using the 1/4 outputs (not the headphone  out).  Also check the levels.  It could be that you are too hot out.  Other than that it shouldn't be a problem.

by seanbaker1 on 2012-01-18 12:54:02

Yes, I'm using the 1/4" output.  I've tried changing the levels on the HD500 using the Master volume, volume knob, volume pedal (when configured), etc.  No matter what I always get a steady bshzzzzzzzz sound.  I must be missing something fundamental!

by seanbaker1 on 2012-01-18 19:21:34