These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: Spider Valve

Replacing preamp tubes in my spider valve mkii hd100
by Xiphos1 on 2012-02-14 17:38:18

First, forgive my ignorance as I have never messed with tubes before and haven't even had a tube amp in 15 years so I am just learning about tubes. I do know a little about them from power amps and preamps I had owned but never changed them before. Anyway, I am thinking of changing the preamp tubes from the sovteks to electro harmonix tubes. My question is that I see inside my am head where the tubes are it has printed 12AX7B. Now I was looking at some online stores and don't see any 12AXBs. I  did see some Sovtek 12AXWA & WCs also some other tube brands with -R, -R2, -R3, A,-C, etc. My question is do I need to find a replacement that ends with "B"? After reading some reviews I really want to try the The electro harmonix which is a 12AX7EH tube. Thanks for any input - Dann

Re: Replacing preamp tubes in my spider valve mkii hd100
by spaceatl on 2012-02-14 18:20:01

You can use just about any 12AX7 you like...I would recomend that you stay away from the long plate types as those are more prone to being microphonic...

I am using a mixed bag in my SVs (I have a MK1 and MK2)....I use Mesa SPAX7s for V1 and a Groove Tubes SAGAX7 balanced inverter. If you happened to be in Atlanta, I have 5 EH 12AX7s that are practically new...I am not a fan of that tube. Every single one I have tried as had kind of a high noise floor...But I am used to SPAX7s as I have been using those for over 20 years...They last and I have never gotten a bad one...

Depending on what you choose, you can change the character of the power amp a bit, but the 12AX7s are not going to change your distortion as that is all modeled...just noisefloor, some harmonic content and perhaps dynamics a bit...V1 will make a bit more difference than V2, but this is all pretty subjective and in the end it will be up to you to find what you like...