These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: POD HD

Support forums for all POD HD products

POD HD500 to Vox Valvetronix
by gusbus on 2012-05-25 20:39:56

Okay, so I'm a total newbie to amp modelling and guitar tone and all the rest, although I have been playing guitar now for around 6 years. I recently bought a PODHD500 and I'm trying to hook it up to my Vox Valvetronix AD50VT, and it sounds like absolute crap! From what I understand, this is because my amp is already a modelling amp and it's just not a good idea to be overlaying the pod and the amps sounds. I'm hearing things about FX loops and different set ups, But I really have no idea...

Does anyone have any advice as to the best way to set up my HD500 with the Vox Amp? And it's be awesome if you have any general advice as to how to get the best sounds out of the POD, as I am clueless! Should I be looking into a new amp? I also don't know much about amps and what types are best for what, so any advice would be very helpful!

Thanks!

Gus

Re: POD HD500 to Vox Valvetronix
by applemad on 2012-05-26 11:01:19

Disclaimer: I am not an expert. I am learning as I go. The things I think I know may be incorrect.

That said, here is my 2 cents. The Vox amp (and really any standard guitar amp) you are using will color the sound of the POD if you plug it straight into the guitar input. If you dial in a super setup listening through headphones and then plug it in to the guitar input it will not sound the same. The tone circuit and the modeling of the amp itself change the careful preparations you made (or the tone of the preset). Also keep in mind that the POD emulates speakers which in the real world can sound quite different from one another. So as I see it, feeding a speaker/mic emulation into a speaker with its own character changes the sound.