These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: POD HD

Support forums for all POD HD products

POD HD 400 volume level fluctuation while playing.
by indigobjn on 2012-06-14 19:42:57

Hi all,

I have been using my HD400 for 8 months with all the latest updates loaded. After those months I have experienced a problem with the volume level fluctuation for the first time. The problem is while I'm playing, HD400 unit's screen enters to amp-parameters (Gain, Bass, Mid, Treble, Volume) screen and the volume level switches to the current position of the volume knob on HD400 unit from the volume level saved on that particular patch i'm playing. Actually, the HD400 enters and exits to amp-parameter screen and volume level switches between current volume knob position and saved volume level on that patch. This problem occured yesterday but it seems to work just fine now after I power OFF/ON the unit. I was very afraid when this occured. Will this problem repeat again? What do you think caused this problem?

Thank You,

BjN

Re: POD HD 400 volume level fluctuation while playing.
by indigobjn on 2012-06-16 03:11:21

Still waiting for the response....

by spaceatl on 2012-06-16 08:32:50

It's not surprising to me...This is called jitter...Use any Line 6 modeler long enough and likely you will come upon it...The causes are many and it is inherent with what is going on...

Basically, the analog pots are diced up into digital values...say 0 to 100...each it a specific voltage...When you move the pot, that setting is sent to the modeler, when you recall a patch, the knob might be in a different spot than how you saved it...A little vibration, slight variance in input voltage and the voltage varies enough that the pot sends its position...