These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: James Tyler Variax Guitars

Support community for JTV.

Roomy Sound in Acoustic and Reso Samples
by BBender1 on 2012-08-23 13:11:43

I am an audio engineer/guitarist and have been for a long time.  I bought a JTV-59 for both live and recording.

When I auditioned the samples I found out that both the acoustic samples and the reso samples all seem to have a room sound in the sample.  This just doesn’t work for me.  Any engineer can add the amount of room in a sound but there is no way to take it out if you want dry, tight sound.  Is anybody else experiencing this?

Re: Roomy Sound in Acoustic and Reso Samples
by MerlinFL on 2012-08-23 13:36:36

Hi - you've must have recently bought your guitar.  This room acoustic sound has been a hot topic over 6 months back when the update 1.81 came out which dealt with several problems, and was the first introduction of the new HD modeled acoustic guitars.  None of the other acoustic guitars were modified from the literal original digitized samples from the original JTV guitar release and even perhaps were never modified from the original Variax guitar release back in 2005.

My suggestion for you is to learn all you can about what version of software you are running in your guitar and then choose to either move up to the 1.82 version or go backwards giving up many of the POD HD functionality and get the 1.72/1.71 JTV software versions.  All but the 1.81 have little to no room ambience.  And as a matter of clarity - it's not room ambience you are hearing, it's the high definition of the internal body resonance that line 6 tech people chose to model when creating the HD acoustic guitar models.  The Reso bank was not updated or changed from the original in any version of this software.