These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: POD Farm / POD Studio / TonePort

UX2 guitar tone problems plus latency...
by superhokie on 2012-09-06 08:49:14

Hello,

I'm in the process of migrating my virtual studio from a laptop (8G RAM) to a much more powerful desktop (16G RAM).  I've been using the UX2 and Pod Farm for about 3 years so I'm a relatively experienced user of the software & tools.  I'm also pretty technical in terms of troubleshooting PC problems and can usually work my way through most things.

However I've run into a really puzzling problem with my new setup.  I have all the Line 6 stuff in stalled (Pod Farm 2, UX2 drivers, etc).  When I fire up Pod Farm 2 and play some of my custom guitar tones, every tone I use has a latency issue.  I'm also hearing a slight 'slapback echo' along with slight phasing that is getting applied to any tone I use.  This is happening even on tones which are totally clean (meaning no chorus/flange/phase or reverb applied).  I'm also seeing certain tones acting as if they have a 'volume pedal swell' effect applied when there is no volume pedal effect being used in the tone.  These anomalies happens when I run Pod Farm 2 as a standalone and also when I use it with my DAW (Adobe Audition 3.0).  I do all my monitoring with studio headphones.

The UX2 is set as my default device for audio, recording & playback.  In "Line 6 Audio-MIDI Devices", under sample rate converter my buffer size is one notch above 'Extra Small'.  In "ASIO Settings", the default buffer is set to 256 (no option to go lower than that, but 256 is the same as my old laptop which works fine) and 16 bit.  The driver is operating at 44100 Hz; 16 bit.  I have all the setups configured exactly as they were on my old laptop. 

When I revert to my old laptop, my tones all sound perfectly fine - no latency and no weird 'phasing'.  Yet when I try to play through the new desktop, I get the latency and the 'phasing' with every tone.