These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: POD HD

Support forums for all POD HD products

POD HD Bean/Desktop - Best Output Wiring Options
by rojocito on 2012-09-16 04:04:36

First Disclaimer:  I'm new to this and I'm learning.  I apologize for ignorance in my questions.

There's a lot of posts about output wiring so I guess it's okay that I'm confused.  I have an Orange Dark Terror (has an FX Loop) and a POD HD Desktop/Bean.  I have it simply set up as follows just to get started:

Output Mode: Stack Front

Guitar -> POD Guitar In

POD Unbalanced Out L -> AMP Guitar In

I use effects more than models and recognize that this will work but A) will only allow me to put effects and models in front of my amp and B) my tone will always be "colored" by my Amp's tone.

The following statement from (http://foobazaar.com/podhd/toneGuide/setup">http://foobazaar.com/podhd/toneGuide/setup">http://foobazaar.com/podhd/toneGuide/setup) describes what I simply desire to do best:

"Even if you always use your amp's pre-amp for you amp tone, never using the Pod's amp models, you may still prefer to hook up the Pod via the 4CM, so that you can position effects before and after the pre-amp, rather than just after."

However, every reference to the 4CM refers to a FX Out/Loop on the POD HD and is usually refering to the 300/400/500.  I specifically wanted the Desktop/Bean with a FBV Shortboard so that I could use pedal controls but have the "Ergomics" of having my controls at hand (I play in my home studio most often).  The Desktop/Bean does not appear to have this output, only Unbalanced R/L. 

Therefore, I'm assuming that my only option for using my Amp's FX Loop is:

Output Mode: Stack Power Amp

Guitar -> POD Guitar In

POD Unbalanced Out L -> AMP FX Return

I believe that the downside here is that I do not have the option to use my Amp's pre-amp.