These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: XD-V Digital Wireless Microphones

wireless mic forums

Line 6 XD-V35 loud buzzing help needed!
by Johnny4x on 2012-12-06 07:13:42

Hi there - I'm brand new to the world of Digital Wireless - hope someone can help.

I purchased a Line 6 XD-V55HS Digital Wireless Headphone Microphone a few weeks ago, it worked great plugged into our mixing desk.  We also plug into the desk two "wired" mics (xlr) and use the 48v button on the desk to power them.

I have since added a Line 6 XD-V35 hand held mic/receiver - and when I plug this into the desk I get a loud buzzing.  The buzzing goes away when I switch off 48v - but of couse that kills the other mics.

I have tried an "Audio Technica" wireless mic insted of the Line 6 XD-V35 with no problems using the 48v button!

Wonder if I have a faulty unit, or if there is a simple solution?

Big thanks for any help!!

John

Re: Line 6 XD-V35 loud buzzing help needed!
by RonMarton on 2012-12-06 10:28:00

G'day from Down Under, John...

And welcome to our wonderful wireless world!

I suspect that you may be using the "Unbalanced Out" jack from one or both of these units (more likely the newer V35) as, at first glance, a "guitar" jack cable may have seemed to be the most convenient connection.

Use of anything other than XL to XL "mic lead" connections from receiver output/s to mixer "Mic In" socket/s opens a whole can of seriously nasty powering and earthing worms, which is why we tend to use the Unbalanced Out/s exclusively for connection from receiver outputs to the "Mic" input sockets of guitar amp heads and/or simpler "powered loudspeaker on a stick" set-ups.

As it happens, I'm a big fan of earthworms, (especially for fishing) ...but believe me when I say that I always chuck the can of "earthing worms" overboard at the first opportunity.