These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: POD HD

Support forums for all POD HD products

POD HD300 Beginner - Dirty tones?
by BreakfastClub on 2013-01-05 12:40:26

Hi I have been an acoustic guitarist all my life and only recently got into electrics. Have been fiddling with the POD HD300 for 2 months and can't seem to get a basic dirty tone out of it. When I plug my guitar directly into my basic practice Marshall amp (MG10CF), on the distortion channel, I get a decent simple dirty tone - can someone help with how I can closely replicate this with the POD (i.e. so that when i do guitar-->POD-->clean channel of amps, I get the same sound)? Have tried different kinds of bundled amp models and messed around with a bunch of the FXs but nothing seems to sound like it..

Re: POD HD300 Beginner - Dirty tones?
by CairnsFella on 2013-01-05 19:33:06

I guess the best answer would be from someone that knows what that amp sounds like.

I hope you dont think I am being funny here (I assure you that isnt my intention), but given that you own that it already, I would say the best way to acheive the the required tone is to use your existing amp.

Of course if you are gigging etc, that may not be so feasable.

by BreakfastClub on 2013-01-07 20:10:47

I am indeed gigging, which is the reason why I'm trying to have all my sounds on the POD.

I'm not super tied to my particular amp's distortion tone, just trying to get a basic, mainstream dirty tone. But somehow can't seem to find the right combination of amp model / FX that gives that. Everything sounds either too dirty, or, for lack of a better term, weird.

I know I'm not being very helpful in how i'm wording my question - admittedly I'm very much an amateur. But thanks anyway!

by PremiumJones on 2013-01-07 21:22:25

You cant get good sounds going intot he front of an amp. Thats not what a POD is designed for. Plug it into the FX loop return, or a channel strip on the PA.