These forums are read only, please use our new forums here.

Main :: Spider IV/Spider Online

Newbie Help
by richlich on 2013-01-25 11:31:03

Okay, I'm new to amps with all these effects built in (haven't messed with an amp at all since the mid-60s and it had only tremelo built in) and, frankly, the SP IV manuals/docs don't tell me much. I have a Spider IV 15. So, here are my questions:

1. When I first turned my amp on, there was apparently a tremolo effect and a reverb effect already set. I simply want to start out with a pure, clean sound with no effects. I tried clearing all the effects and saving that under the Clean button but when I turned the amp on again, they were back. (Yes, I turned the two effects knobs all the way to the left/off.) I then followed the instructions to set everything to baseline by holding down the (?) button (the one to the far right) and turning the amp on. This apparently set everything back to "default" with no effects, but the next time I turned the amp on again the effects returned.

2. When I do use effects, I primarily want to use reverb (echo chamber? - hey, I did play through a friend's Fender Twin Reverb amp at one time and man, what a sound from the spring when the amp was accidentally hit) and to some extent tremelo (e.g. in a couple of Link Wray songs). What pedal do I need to get so I can simply turn reverb (and/or other effects, again primarily tremolo) on and off? How about setting the amount of reverb (and tremolo)?

3. What do I need to do on my Line6 to get a "twangy" sound like you need for Ghost Riders In the Sky or maybe some of the Duane Eddy stuff? (Yeah, I know I don't have a water tower chamber like DE used in his recordings, but I'd like to try to approximate it as best I can.) Or even rockabilly? I'm going to be playing a mixture of 50s/60s rock, classic country, and praise & worship and hymns.