Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

New Jtv-89 - Blinking Red Light On The Usb Interface (guitar Side)

Hello everyone.

I've purchased a new JTV-89 yesterday and now that I got it at home, I'm having some issues getting things to actually play.

Perhaps a small bit of backstory - I'm a newbie guitarist and have only played on a cheap classical guitar up to this point, however, getting an electric was always my goal (of course mastering said electric is my next goal ;) ). As such, I don't have a lot of audio equipement related to electric guitars. I do, however, have a pretty darn good computer (with an old, but good Audigy 2 sound card running kX audio drivers with custom DSP settings), and a nice amplifier and a pair of columns connected to that computer.

As such, the JTV-89 seemed like a superb idea, because wouldn't have to buy extra equipement and could put more money into getting a good guitar rather than other set pieces for getting said guitar to play (amps, cables, whatnots).

Before purchasing this JTV-89 guitar I had a chance to listen to it - it was then connected to a POD 500 and a laptop. As such, the USB interface, the battery - all those things were still sealed in their origial packages - I feel this is important information, as it suggests the guitar itself should be fine and the trouble I'm about to describe might be with one of the connecting elements, unless something had happened during transport, but the guitar was safely tucked in it's bag and the ride was smooth.