Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

the_clause

Hi,

I've been using a POD X3 for my live sound for many years now and although I'm very happy with it, I've always wanted to upgrade, even more so now with the release of Helix. The trouble is, a few of my bands songs extensively use the X3's 'Synth Strings' effect, so much so that we cannot live without it.

I bought an HD Pro a year or two back to replace the X3, seeing it had a 'Synth String' effect, however I had to return it as the HD's 'Synth String' sounded nothing like the X3's Synth String, plus it seemed the HD couldn't do half the the stuff the X3 could do in Dual Tone mode without reaching DSP processing limits?

Are there plans to patch the Synth String effect into the Helix? If not, can there be? This will be the Synth String effect modelled on 'ARPSolina / Elka® Strings'.

Also, for recording, I like to record the dry signal, and use POD Farm VST, so that I can tweak settings further down the line. Are there plans to make a VST Helix plugin, so that I can have Helix tones within my DAW, rather than one-shot recording?

I too wish some of the X3 amps and effects make it into Helix, especially at least one of the preamp models for acoustic instruments. Helix hardware is too flexible to leave this important capability out. The EQ blocks aren't a substitute since the tone controls are not voiced for acoustic instruments making them inconvenient to setup and use live.

For recording, I also record dry, but no longer use POD Farm having replaced it with S-Gear from www.scuffhamamps.com. S-Gear is really fantastic.