Jump to content
vindaloo

Odd naming bug

Recommended Posts

Trying to rename a preset that's called "New Preset". In the save menu I rename it "Hendrix" and clear out any remaining unused letters, in this case there is an "et" at the end that gets deleted. I then save the preset, and it saves and displays it correctly. However, if you try to re-save the preset what I see is "Hendrix et". This is repeatable, no matter how many times I update the name this keeps showing up.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

(1) I was able to somewhat duplicate this bug. So. (2) You are not crazy.

I found if I hit clear a few more times than I really should need to ( 2-3 more times after the last character is gone) then it wouldn't come back after I hit save.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not seeing it here. Either we fixed it before the build I'm on (post-1.06), or I'm doing something wrong.

 

Either way, logged.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry, I should have mentioned that I'm on 1.06.5. Thanks DI, if you need more info let me know.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, I've seen this also.  I haven't had a chance to try to isolate why/when it occurs.  It definitely doesn't get stored with the preset; instead, it seems to be a scratchpad buffer of memory that previously contained the name of a preset whose name had more characters.  I think one way I see it is if I import a preset from the editor and change the name to something shorter.  Then if I make a change and save it from the unit, I see the extra characters.  I just ignore them and they don't "stick" with the preset.  I'm still on 1.06.0.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I noticed this as well.

 

What I really wish would be to replace the clear function by insert. I decide to identify my presets by starting the names by JVM , ART, PA, etc and I had to rename from first charater.....

 

I know. That's OCD...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've seen this too. Like RPascarella, I've just been ignoring it because it doesn't affect anything. And once Helix is turned off and back on, whatever memory is being used for this is cleared. 1.06.5 firmware.

 

I've also seen a similar thing with the IR slots (on earlier firmware than 1.06.5), only it persisted between power cycles. I remember trying the "Clear" function to no effect. I don't mess around with the IRs very much, so only seen it a couple of times and the details are vague. It was a while ago.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Did you guys reset your global settings after the last update? Dom saw this too, but it went away after resetting everything. I'm trying to make it happen, but it's working as expected here.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I did reset everything when I went to 1.06, but not 1.06.5. Frankly I find it to be a pain in the butt that I have to erase all of my global settings after each update, and there's no way to back up the global settings (tuner offsets, eq, etc).

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am on 1.06.5 and I have done the globals reset and I have also seen this problem. In fact, just happened again to me saving a preset last night. It doesn't seem to really do anything bad though. I am connected to my computer although the Helix editor was not open at the time. Not sure if being connected to the computer has anything to do with it. I haven't checked to see if the extra characters go away if I turn the Helix off and back on. I'll try that tonight when I get home.

 

Edit--I turned the Helix off and back on and the preset was named correctly without the additional characters.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I saw this also. When I saved an existing preset to a new position, modified it, then saved it with a new name, the last 3 characters from the previous name in that slot were visible, and I deleted them. The name saved and displayed properly. When I edited again and saved, those 3 characters were back. This is new behavior since fw 1.06.5. Heads up.

 

Edit - I did the suggested reset when I did the fw update when it came out, and was not hooked up to the pc with USB when doing my editing last night. The preset I was replacing was named "New Preset Dummy" - preset was what I did when the "New Presets" were being placed in wrong places after a reset/reload from backups. I would place an amp only in the preset and I named them "New Preset Dummy" as place holders. When I worked on the new one, the last 3 characters "mmy" showed up when saving each time.

Dave

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×