Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

FYI, Musician's Friend SDOTD is a Variaxe JTV69S for $999.99

zooey

Anyone using one of these as their main axe and recommend it with Helix?

Not exactly this, but I've been using my JTV69US as my main gigging guitar for over three years. I have the maple neck on mine. I've never tried one of Korean JTV69S's with a maple neck. I'd be interested to see how close it feels to the US version. I love the neck on mine.

There are some pretty crappy reviews about Musicians Friend sending out defective guitars and these guitars having a lot of QC issues.

Does anyone here have any experience?

I saw those reviews as well. I have gotten repackaged merchandise sold as "new" from different retailers on occasion (this is not just a MF issue).  I am hoping I will get a decent one. I will try to post back after I receive it.

Anyone using one of these as their main axe and recommend it with Helix?

Yep, I currently own 17 guitars and the JTV69 and my EBMM Majesty are my main axes.  If I had to get rid of all but 2 these would stay.  If I had to get rid of all but 1 it would be a tough call between the 2.

• Upvote 1

Not a Variaxe guy, don't know much about htis or how good a deal it is, but here you go...

Line 6 Variax JTV-69S Electric Guitar with Single Coil Pickups  Black Maple Fingerboard

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/guitars/line-6-variax-jtv-69s-electric-guitar-with-single-coil-pickups/h90033000002002

It's $699 if you look at this link: http://www.musiciansfriend.com/stupid

And, actually if you put it in your cart from the normal link, the price will change to $699.

Ordered, that is exactly the model I have been looking for, thanks zooey & phil_m!

Are there any wireless options for using the Variaxe with the Helix?

Sure, you can use the Variax's 1/4" outs with any regular wireless system, but as far as controlling the Variax, no dice...