Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
johoffry

SAVE-AS Preset?

Recommended Posts

What am I missing here? I make a few tweaks to a preset and want to save it somewhere else from the editor so I STILL HAVE THE ORIGINAL. If I press 'save' it overwrites. Is there a 'Save-as' equivalent for saving a preset (from the editor)?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When you want to make a copy of a preset in the editor, CTRL+drag the preset to a different location rather than SAVE it.

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks Silver, good idea! Is that the same for a Mac I guess?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I "saved" my favorite Marshall patch to another location on the same setlist to try a few tweaks. After trying and saving them, I went back to my original and the tweaks were on the original patch as well. Lucky for me I was able to remember what I had changed so I didn't learn the hard way.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I "saved" my favorite Marshall patch to another location on the same setlist to try a few tweaks. After trying and saving them, I went back to my original and the tweaks were on the original patch as well. Lucky for me I was able to remember what I had changed so I didn't learn the hard way.

What probably happened here is when you copy a preset to a new location the Helix does not automatically jump to that location. It stays on whatever preset you were already on, usually the original preset you are copying from. When you were editing what you thought was your new preset you were actually editing your original preset. You need to double click on the target preset slot you copied to after you do a copy to actually edit the copy rather than the original. I have been caught by this behavior a couple of times myself.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When you want to make a copy of a preset in the editor, CTRL+drag the preset to a different location rather than SAVE it.

 

You can also right click on a preset, hit "Copy" and then click on the new slot you want to copy to, right click and hit "Paste".  This will also work with multiple presets if you highlight them together. Just be careful because it will paste over successive presets starting at the first slot you choose for the paste operation.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

press save once, on the Helix screen lower right you can dial a new location. Then press save again.

 

i have not tested of it changes both or just saves at the new location without affecting the original

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

press save once, on the Helix screen lower right you can dial a new location. Then press save again.

 

i have not tested of it changes both or just saves at the new location without affecting the original

 

Yeah - it's super easy on the actual Helix itself :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On the actual Helix hardware itself the "Save As" is by turning the knobs for setlist and location as noted by previous posters. When you do this it does not affect the "source" location and only saves changes to the new location. When done on the hardware it should auto-switch to the newly saved location.

 

In the editor on your computer you can copy/paste presets in the conventional way by right-click or shortcut keys. However, doing this in the editor does not change the current selected patch. It also takes some planning as I don't think copy/paste if you already edited the patch (but didn't save yet) will copy the unsaved changes. It probably copies only the originally saved settings. I'm not in front of Helix right now but definitely try it out when you get the chance.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

At the risk of being boringly obvious, seems to me that genuine Save As... functionality in the editor would be useful. Simple, clear, familiar.

  • Upvote 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dammit! I messed up countless presets thanks to this awful behaviour!! Its a real blunder that they have forgotten the "save as" button... :o(

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is a "save as" button, it just doesn't say that on the button. You click save once and it brings up choices above each dial below the screen. You choose the location, and you also change the name on that same screen. You are "saving as" in a different location with a new name you dial in. 

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is a "save as" button, it just doesn't say that on the button. You click save once and it brings up choices above each dial below the screen. You choose the location, and you also change the name on that same screen. You are "saving as" in a different location with a new name you dial in. 

 

In the editor, like other computer stuff works?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...