Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Can I record loops with FBV Express MKII & Spider III?

goonergaz

Hi, as title really. Firstly I'm a total noob and have no idea on these things but essentially someone at work was selling the above and I bought it for my 15yo daughter as she is really into her music (plays guitar, drums & keyboard). It was a bit of a steal at £75 and seemed a no-brainer, a half-decent amp and the bonus of a loop pedal...like I said, I'm no expert but I expected the loop pedal to allow her to record and play back so she can create many 'layers' of guitar music.

Having looked into things I'm not sure but I think the amp lacks the recording ability - sorry, either I'm stoopid or the instructions assume I know something about what I'm doing. Either way, hopefully someone here can help clarify/advise. I did a lot of googling and am finding it hard to pin-point answers/demos on this setup - I did find a demo on youtube of a kid doing this with a Spider IV but the buttons he used are not on the Spider III.

So, long and the short - can my daughter use this or do I need to track down a Spider IV/an other amp? Also, while I'm at it, as I said she plays keyboard too, so is there a way to use this setup to record and playback keyboard?

Thanks in advance for any advice, it'd be really appreciated :)

Thanks for your input :)

A quick search gives me a UX2 @ £50 and a Spider IV 75W @ £120 (a wash as I could sell old amp) Am I right in thinking;

UX2 would allow recording of guitar & keys (and drums) but require a laptop? Would she be able to control through the FBV?

Spider IV would allow recording of guitar only but will be easier to setup and controllable through FBV and no need for laptop?