Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Dani California Sound – with Spider V 240hc and Variax JTV69

katerlouis

First of: 

This may not be the right place to start a discussion about this, but ..

– everything found in Spider V cloud is a huge disappointment to me,

– Line6 Custom Tone (http://de.line6.com/customtone/) doesn't feature Spider V (because of the cloud I guess)

– and the Line6 Tone Templates are may be a good starting point, but stay too vague (for me at least) http://de.line6.com/tone-templates/

– The rest of the web is too confusing to me.

That's why I want to ask the Spider V community directly.

I am just getting into the sound-analysis-and-recreation-thingy and am really struggling to get the hang of it. In whatever I do, at some point the "Aaaha!" moment hits my forhead and I from then begin to control the matrix. But to get there it seems I need your help in this hobby.

––––––––––––––––––––––––

GUITAR

My Variax JTV69 is on factory Spank 5 (Neck-Pickup is what he mostly uses? Mixed information aswell here)

AMP

as suggested here http://de.line6.com/data/6/0a06439c160a957be2b16ef3c6/application/pdf

I went with the Brit Plexi 200 here.

Problem #1: he uses two amp setups. (Hail Helix, babe!)

Problem #2: Tone equalizer isn't present in this PDF. What bass, mids and treble? Presence? Drive?

I googled and found the amp-eq here: https://m.bonedo.de/artikel/einzelansicht/sound-alike-2-john-frusciante.html

Bass 12'clock

Mids 2'a'clock

Treble 12

Presence 13

This sounds okay. But still faaar away from his sound.

The PDF mentions some effects from the Californication tour. Do they apply to Dani California as well? I don't know! :D

Even if; the settings are completely missing here.

That's what I got so far;