Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Need help with HD500X Sounds

Henry24foREVer

So I've been playing guitar for a few years now, but I never really got around to learning how to make the "perfect" patch or sound for me, and honestly I still get lost when it comes to finding a good sound. I know about this^ website providing patches from other users, but honestly they sound good until you start playing with other instruments. I own a Schecter Blackjack SLS with the Floyd Rose and Sustaniac, with a Seymour Duncan TB-10 Full Shred Humbucker on the Bridge. I play at my church so I would really appreciate if someone could help me out on figuring out a sound that would sound good with this guitar and also sound good live. I will be plugged into the system, not an amp. Next week is my church's anniversary so I want to have a really good sound by then, for those that decide to help me, I am trying to look the basics, a clean patch, rhythm patch, and a solo patch, and for those that have experience with playing at a church, i am not looking for a sound like hillsong, at our church we like to play a little more "rock." Thanks.

I would really appreciate if someone could help me out on figuring out a sound that would sound good with this guitar and also sound good live.

Unfortunately, this really isn't a question that can be answered remotely. With nothing more to go on than the model of guitar and pickups that you're using, and describing the music as "rock", anything that anyone suggests is pure guesswork.

Finding a tone that sits well in a mix is always a challenge... but without hearing whay you're hearing, there's no way for me to tell you what's missing and/or what you've got too much of.

If there's a player who's tone you like, you can try starting with a patch that mimics the set-up he/she uses... beyond that, there's not a whole lot to suggest. What sounds "good" to you is entirely subjective...