Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

No where else to turn to before I return My Helix

leadplayer420

So first to give you a bit of info on me. I have been playing for about 25 years 20 years have been with multi effects units starting with the RP1 (remeber those :-) ) .  Before I bought the Helix I had a GT10 running through 2  Yamaha DSR112's and was in love with the sounds I could achieve. So I thought I would buy a Helix Floor unit and 2 PRX815's and take it a step further, what I got so far is beyond a let down. Almost every clean sound has a bit of distortion to it ( a bad distortion like over driving an input) however I checked and no inputs are being overdriven in the unit or on the cabs. BTW all these bad sounds are coming through both the JBL cabs and the headphones ( I am using a good pair of uncolored studio headphones, just cannot remember the exact model atm). On most all of the distorted patches that come with the unit, and patches I downloaded off the line 6 site that had good reviews I get the same basic issue but now its distortion over distortion and is an ear piercing sound. I have changed the input settings from auto up to to 1M ohm and each setting in-between as well and nothing really helps. As I dont have another Helix to compare sounds with I am not sure if its a bad unit or if I am just doing something wrong. I have used these types of units for years and am doing nothing different than I have done in the past while achieving decent tones. The global eq is off. I have upgraded the firmware to the newest version, have factory reset the unit a few times. I would GREATLY appreciate any help, I have contacted Line 6 got no help, contacted the store that sold me the unit again no help, and read some of the topics here and could not use any info in those to fix this issue. There is one thing that may give someone an idea of what the problem is. If I turn down my guitars volume by as little as