Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Should I buy a Floor Helix or the Native Plug In

ddargis1208

I actually bought a Helix Floor unit and am worried it's massive overkill for my abilities, experience, etc.   I've played mostly acoustic guitar and bought a few electrics and now feel like I've fallen down the rabbit hole.   I wouldn't really know how to create tones, but like the idea of being able to purchase/download patches.    I'm a bedroom player, so no gigging application or band application so do I really need a Floor Unit?   Should I have just purchased the Helix Native Plug-In for $400 vs. the Floor for $1400.   

If I buy the Native Plug in and return the Floor unit I'll still need to purchase a FocusRite Scarlett (or something like that), plus I'll need a copy of Pro Tools to basically run the thing, right?    Seems like I'm swimming out of my depth, but would appreciate any advice as I'm pretty new to all this amp sim stuff.   Thinking I might just need to swim in shallow waters like Amplitube, Guitar Rig, or Tone Bridge....  but I do really want the high level tonal capabilities of Helix and have hired a guy for lessons who may be able to help me fine tune it.   

Well you already have it... so if the money isn't an issue, I say keep it. Just because you're not playing with anyone today, doesn't mean that you won't want to at some point down the road. Native won't help you at that point, and you'll be spending more money anyway. It's really intended for recording and re-amping... where you would typically be using one sound at a time... but even if you're just want to play along with songs, you'll need some sort of foot controller to switch patches in Native.