Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Powercab Plus Combo Jack Input - 2 guitar?

erickbalan

Hi Guys,

I'm new to the modelling amp world. I'm currently eyeing for the Line 6 powercab 112 plus as FRFR speaker for my POD HD500x. Saw in the manual there's two input/combo jack at the back of the speaker input 1 & input 2 - what happen if i plug in two guitar with multi-fx into it, let say i wanna jam with my buddy, will it work or is it for different purpose?

Don't have a Powercab, so I won't speculate as to the design's purpose... but I do know one thing:

Even if it "works", in the sense that sound comes out, piping two guitars though a single 12" speaker is a guaranteed mess. Both instruments occupy the same sonic space and will be constantly fighting with each other.  You'll be lucky if you can distinguish who's who. 

• Thanks 1

On 4/29/2019 at 4:49 PM, cruisinon2 said:

Don't have a Powercab, so I won't speculate as to the design's purpose... but I do know one thing:

Even if it "works", in the sense that sound comes out, piping two guitars though a single 12" speaker is a guaranteed mess. Both instruments occupy the same sonic space and will be constantly fighting with each other.  You'll be lucky if you can distinguish who's who. 

Why should it be a mess? You can play a backing track through the powercab and play to it. That doesn't sound that bad. Of course, two amps would be nicer for your case but it should be fine.

2 hours ago, StringsOnFire said:

Why should it be a mess? You can play a backing track through the powercab and play to it. That doesn't sound that bad. Of course, two amps would be nicer for your case but it should be fine.