Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Live vs Recorded Tone

kraftybob

I'm a relative novice when it comes to recording guitar and amps.  Up to this point I've been recording my guitar/amp with an SM57 & USB Interface direct to Garageband and am happy with the results.  I've been messing around with recording the Helix and the tone is different compared to what I'm hearing out of my amp (DSL40C).  It doesn't matter if I'm using my amp, or using a preamp in the Helix and going directly into the FX return, the recorded tone is always brighter and slightly fuzzier.  I run the audio out from my mac into a Kenwood receiver and I have Bose speakers so it's not like I'm listening through the bullt-in computer speakers.  Also, I don't have this problem when I record with the mic - so I'm pretty sure I can rule out the Mac and speakers.

I'm less concerned about adjusting the settings on the Helix to get a good recorded tone as I would imagine I should be able to do that with some tweaking.  I'm more concerned if I'm playing live using my amp onstage and also XLR to the FOH (If I'm mic'ing the amp, no worries).  If I set my tones based on what I'm hearing from the amp, is it going to be bright and fuzzy through the PA?  Or, if I adjust for the PA, am I going to have a more muted sound coming from the amp.

I guess one solution is setup parallel paths - one for the amp and one for XLR - and put EQ's at the end to adjust each path separately.  If I can I'd rather avoid that so that I'm not tweaking a bunch of patches/snapshots each time I play somewhere.

I'm currently not playing out, however, I may have something in the works so I'd like to get all this ironed out before that starts.  Is this common or is it something I'm doing, or not doing?

2 hours ago, kraftybob said: